| May/June 1973

Greensburg, Indiana 47240.

The following article concerns the beginnings of the Pioneer Engineer's Club. Many dispute the age of this club as being older than 25 years. The information given below may help clear this dispute up.

In 1946 the Indiana Brotherhood of Threshermen no longer existed. Some of the members and officers got together to decide how to dispose of $75.00 which they had in the treasury. They decided to buy a gift for the oldest member, and a leather coat was purchased for Luther Caldwell, a charter member. A basket dinner was planned to be held at Metzger's Lumber Yard in Rushville, where Mr. Caldwell had his little 1870 Gaar portable stored. That day, in 1947, 50 men met at the Rushville lumber yard. They discovered that Henry McMann was the eldest and also a charter member, so another coat was purchased and the remainder of the money was spent for soft drinks. At this meeting they talked of forming a club of threshermen and sawmill men. They voted to hold their first reunion the next summer at the Rush county fairgrounds. The first officers elected were: Pres., Nelson Howard of New Castle; Vice-Pres., Fred H. Paul of Frankfort; & Secy.-Treas., Ralph Shelburne of Zionsville. Directors were: Eldon Myers of New Augusta; Walter Ramsey, Danville; Roy Mitchell, Rushville; Chester Franklin, Williamsburg; and Lewis Owens, Worthington.

In August, 1948, Luther Caldwell and Roy Mitchell, owners of the Gaar Portable and a hand fed drag thresher, along with Nelson Howard with his 50 HP Case engine, had a reunion at the Rushville Fairgrounds.

In 1950, 3 traction engines were at the reunion. After this reunion, a meeting was held at Krekeler's machine shop at St. Maurice, near Greensburg. At this meeting it was decided to name the growing club to 'The Pioneer Engineer's Club of Indiana.' This name was suggested by Howard Ewbank, one of our deceased members.

1951 saw the club grow to six traction engines owned by: Ralph Shelburne, Reeves; Tony Moorman, Advance Rumely; Ben Krekeler, Baker; Howard Ewbank, Port Huron; Nelson Howard, Case; and Lawrence Porter, Case. Mr. Caldwell had his Gaar portable, and Keith Mauzy brought a 6 H.P. Case portable. New officers were elected: Pres., Ben Krekeler, Greensburg; Vice-Pres., Davis Sullivan, Markleville; Secy., Howard Ewbank, Rushville; Treas., Anthony Moorman, Greensburg (who has served continuously since). The reunions were held at the fairgrounds in conjunction with the Rush County fair for 6 years, until 1953. No admission was charged, exhibitors paid for their own expenses, and only donations were accepted to help boost the young club.


Farm Collector April 16Farm Collector is a monthly magazine focusing on antique tractors and all kinds of antique farm equipment. If it's old and from the farm, we're interested in it!

Save Even More Money with our SQUARE-DEAL Plan!

Pay now with a credit card and take advantage of our SQUARE-DEAL automatic renewal savings plan. You'll get 12 issues of Farm Collector for only $24.95 (USA only).

Or, Bill Me Later and send me one year of Farm Collector for just $29.95.

Facebook Pinterest YouTube


Copyright 2018, All Rights Reserved
Ogden Publications, Inc., 1503 SW 42nd St., Topeka, Kansas 66609-1265