The 1991 Stumptown Steam Threshers Show

| July/August 1992

Route 1, Box 332 Adena, Ohio 43901

The good Lord again blessed the Stumptown crowd with beautiful weather for this year's show. The show opened with prayer by Lester Nabb and the raising of 'Old Glory' by the Cadiz Boy Scouts. Most of the steam engines were moving and the gas engines were popping as the show got into full swing.

The first chore for the sawmill was to square timbers for the shingle mill. The shingle mill was powered mostly by gas tractors this year. Souvenir shingles were made and given away. Cornmeal was ground and sold both days and Dick Carnes entertained with his band organ. Plenty of good food was sold by the Weirton Lions Club and the New Athens Firemen's Auxiliary with soup beans cooked in an open kettle being their specialty.

At 12:45, the crowning of the 1991 Queen and Thresherman of the Year was featured with Carl Jackowski being named Thresherman and his wife, Gayle, being crowned as Queen. They took their official ride in Ralph Jones' Model T truck.

At 1:00, the slow engine race got underway. Dennis Hudak was the winner on the Krofft family Case. The block race competition was very exciting. Three engines finished the event without knocking the block over, but Ray Sell had the least amount of time so he was the winner. After the races, threshing began with the A & T thresher and the Peerless engine. Sawing, baling, cornmeal grinding and shingle making continued until 3:30, when the Tri-Valley Farmers & Wives put on the kiddie tractor pull. Results in Class 1 were: Kate Rogers, Cadiz, in first place; R.J. Miller, Martin's Ferry, in second place, Mike Thatcher, Flushing, in third place. The results in Class II were: Daren Lucas, Freeport, in first place; Dale Ferrell, Belmont, in second place; and Casey Huffman, Seville, in third place. The results in Class III were: Bill Blakely, Allendonia, in first place; Derek Swallney, St. Clairsville, in second place; John Barrett, Hendrysburg, in third place. The results in Class IV were: Matt Modra, Shady side, in first place; Brad Thornberg, Barnesville, in second place; Lee Ann Lucas, Piedmont, in third place. The results in Class V were: Kevin Lara, Piedmont, in first place; John O'Neil, Cadiz, Ohio in second place; Brenda Ronevich, Bellaire, in third place. We wish to thank all the youngsters who participated and the Tri-Valley Young Farmers for putting on the show.

At 6:00, the Ohio Valley Promenaders Square Dancers & Cloggers put on their show which was enjoyed by all. At 7:00, the Old Time Fiddlers contest was held with eight contestants entered. The special Don Wilson Trophy was won by Clarence Miller of Brilliant, in the 60 and older class; Dorman Jefferies of Toronto came in second place; and Jim Ady of Woodsfield came in third.